“These are a few of my favorite things!”

My view yesterday afternoon, although it was a bit damp and foggy.

The beach is one of my absolute favorite places to go, and I’m lucky to live so close to it. Not on the beach, mind you, but within a ten minute drive!

Beaches are good for several reasons:

1. Frolicking in the water

What can I say? I’m a fish in water. When I was a kid, if someone asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up my automatic answer was mermaid. I find being in the waves relaxing. Boogie boarding is tons of fun without having to shell out money for surf lessons and equipment. Nothing like a good night’s sleep after hours of being pummeled in the waves and salty ocean air, either. This time of year, though, the ocean water is still way too cold for me!

2. The sounds

There’s something soothing about all the different noises at the beach — and not just the waves themselves. Seagulls and sandpipers. The hundreds of people around you, chattering and laughing and yelling.

3. The people

Let’s face it. People watching is entertaining. You never know when you’ll spot someone who might make an entertaining character in a story. No, beach people, I’m not secretly watching you.

4. Sunshine

Sunshine is good for your brain. It boosts serotonin levels, a neurotransmitter in your brain that helps with those important things like sleep and mood. Sunlight is also important for Vitamin D production in our bodies. Just be sure to wear sunscreen (and reapply after going in the water)! Living with bipolar disorder, it’s important we do what we can to help our moods, even if it’s just some sunshine and fresh air. I find that when I’m in depressive episodes, I have a really, really hard time concentrating on writing (or pretty much anything, for that matter).

Some days I like to bring a notebook and pen and do a little writing. Some days I’ll bring a book. The beach is a wonderful place to clear my head. It’s fun to practice writing scenery based on what’s going around me, too.

Do you have a favorite spot outside of your home that you like to go to clear your head, whether it’s to write, just relax, or do whatever? I’d love to hear your favorite places in the comments!

One thought on ““These are a few of my favorite things!”

  1. I love your love of the beach. The beach has always been my happy place as well. The beach fixes everything! Glad I get to spent my time with a wonderful beachcomber and mermaid! I am enjoying your articles.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

