8tracks Radio and My Love Affair With It

music, radio

I don’t know if I’m totally behind the times or if this website has just really taken off recently. I stumbled across it about six months ago. It is my numero uno site for music when writing. You can check it out here.

(Upon further research, apparently I’m just really, really behind the times. The site launched in 2008. I’m seven years behind, guys…)

What is it, you ask? And I quote from their About page: “8tracks is the best place for people who care about music to make and discover refreshingly human playlists.”

You can search for various user-made music playlists by…oh I don’t know…just about anything. You can even search for whatever mood music you want to listen to. Feeling like a sappy romantic? Search romance + sad. Want a sweet road trip playlist? Type in something such as summer road trip. Search by artist or genre. Right now I’m listening to an instrumental piece from Memoirs of a Geisha, written by John Williams (seriously, everything he does is epic).

There are some real gems to be found amidst some of the teeny-bopper playlists. Here are some of my favorites/recommendations:

For writing romantic scenes

For writing sexy scenes

For writing sad/depressing scenes

I can’t really offer much for you adventure/thriller/suspense writers. Would love to hear some of your favorites, though! Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

