Waiting for You: Meet the characters (Post #1)

So, I’d like to start introducing some of my characters from Waiting for You. They are all special enough to me that they get their own posts! These are parts of my character profile sheets I wrote out during the course of the first draft.

(On a side and totally unrelated note, I just want to say how much of a fog my brain has been in today. It’s to be expected, what with having an ECT treatment yesterday. I start to do stuff, then forget what I was doing. I have a hard time focusing on tasks. I think I was pretty much just physically, not mentally present at work today. I’ve been trying to start this blog post for a good forty-five minutes now, but keep getting distracted with random videos on Youtube. Oh, and I had raspberry white chocolate chip pancakes at IHOP yesterday after my treatment. They were scrumptious.)

I’m one of those people who like to think: if my work was made into a movie, who would play my characters? While I don’t have specific people in mind from the get-go, once I have an idea in my mind of what my characters look like, I do pick out actors/actresses who resemble how I’ve pictured my characters. It helps solidify the image in my mind’s eye. BUT! Here’s my dilemma: do I dish on which actors I have picked? Part of me wants to say that it kind of ruins the fun of imagining what characters look like when you’re reading. So, here’s what I’ll do. Below the character information, I’ll post a link. Your choice if you want to look or not!

Meet my first protagonist!

Full Name: Adam James Bell
DOB: April 5, 1988
Height: 5’10”
Weight: 170 lbs.
Eye color: Brown
Ethnicity: White
Hair color: Dark blond
Family: John Bell – Father (Occupation: lawyer), Ella Pause – Mother (Occupation: concert pianist), Elliott – Brother
Occupation: Full-time waiter, aspiring musician — singer/guitarist for his band, Waiting for One
Hobbies: Writing music / performing. Began learning piano at age 6, cello at age 10, guitar at 15
Hometown: Born in NYC, raised in Charleston, SC
Current residence: Downtown Charleston, SC
Friends: Shawn Wilson* (drummer/roommate), Oliver “Twist” Hawkes (bass guitarist/former classmate), Benny Rice (guitarist)
Education: High school
Religion: Agnostic
Personality: Outgoing, can be a bit abrasive; driven when it comes to music; can be somewhat impulsive
Favorite Food: 
Anything that doesn’t require cooking, or anything expensive
Favorite Music: Rock

Here’s your link to the actor. He did play a good psychopath on a Criminal Minds episode, which I happened to see just the other day.

*Yes, my dog’s name is also Wilson. No, that is not why I gave Shawn that particular last name. It’s in reference to Bill Wilson, founder of AA.

Speaking of Wilson, just snapped this picture of him yesterday in his new bed. He loves blankets.

dog, westie

3 thoughts on “Waiting for You: Meet the characters (Post #1)

  1. I took a look at your pick for this character and I totally concur! I took one look and thought, yup, that’s him. It’s like a literary mugshot of sorts. Looking forward to seeing your other pics for the characters.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Waiting for You: Meet the Characters (Post #2) | For Word Nerds

Leave a Reply

