To write a sequel or not?

When I set out to write my most recent novel, Waiting for You, it was only intended to be a standalone. But after it went through several beta readers, I received feedback from several people that they hope there’s a sequel. So it got me thinking…Maybe I will write a sequel. I have truly loved writing these characters and seeing their story unfold. I’m not quite sure I’m ready to let them go!

Right now, I’ve got one small scene playing out in my mind. I began just writing it out (or typing, in this case) and have a whopping 285 words. It’s just one little blip, one small glimpse into this idea. I have absolutely no clue where I’m going with it yet.

My only concern is that this sequel would be a different genre. Waiting for You is, without a doubt, romance. Contemporary romance, to be specific. This sequel would feature just Kylie as the protagonist, and it would definitely fall under Women’s Literature.

But there’s something about this story I feel like I can’t quite grasp. It’s just a wisp of an idea at the moment. Just that one small scene is visible in my mind, and has been brewing in the back of my brain for a week now. I haven’t been able to come up with any kind of outline or anything.

What to do?!

Leave a Reply

