Floorplanner.com: Using it to help you set your scene

Do you ever find yourself struggling to visualize your settings, specifically ones you’ve made up? I do occasionally, especially when it comes to my characters’ homes. Sometimes it takes me awhile to get a consistent picture in my mind of what a character’s house might look like.

I stumbled onto a website, and I wish I had found it ages ago. Floorplanner.com. Seriously, why couldn’t I have found this sooner? It’s a tool that allows you to create floor plans. For fun, I threw togetherĀ one of Kylie’s apartment:

first-design

Of course, I forgot to put a door leading into the bathroom, but you get the idea.

It’s a nifty little tool you can use to help you set your scene. It has different options for furniture, rugs, decor, etc. You can change the color and texture of the floor. It requires signup, but it’s free to use. Might be helpful for those of you who are like me and are visual learners.

What random tools or apps have you stumbled on that you use for writing your stories?

Leave a Reply

