Sobriety Anniversary

Today I’m celebrating 7 years sober from alcohol. I had the entire ECT team cheering on Tuesday while they were hooking me up to all the equipment.

On days like today, it feels like it was just yesterday when I was receiving my diagnosis of bipolar disorder, spending my first week in a psychiatric hospital, and beginning my outpatient rehab.

Since that day, August 20, 2008, I haven’t looked back. I work hard to stay sober. I don’t go to bars. I don’t put myself in situations that would jeopardize my sobriety. I’m lucky because my husband doesn’t drink, either.

Sure, I have bad times here and there. But my worst days now are better than my best days back then. I wouldn’t go back to that for anything.

2 thoughts on “Sobriety Anniversary

Leave a Reply

